Linzer Gasse & Platzl
The Linzer Gasse is known as a main pedestrian artery through the Salzburg historical district on the right side of the river. Setting out from the “Platzl”, a small square adjacent to the Staatsbrücke bridge, this street runs parallel to the Kapuzinerberg out as far as Schallmoos. One-of-a-kind boutiques, fine restaurants and tradition-rich hotels invite passersby to stop along the way and enjoy.
Since Roman times, the Linzer Gasse has served as a main thoroughfare on the far side of the Old City, and was once the most important road for travelers making their way out of Salzburg in the direction of Linz, Vienna and the northeastern lands of the Habsburg Empire. Although the catastrophic city fire of 1818 showed no mercy to the 14th and 15th century houses on the Linzer Gasse, it was later possible to restore its historic merchants’ homes almost in their entirety. Just like the elegant and very international Getreidegasse, the focus of the Linzer Gasse has practically always been on traditional craftsmanship and artistry. A few years ago, a number of international fashion chains also became established here.
As a vibrant Shopping street, Linzer Gasse has drawn many a famous personality. At house No.3, for example, no less a figure than the famous physician and scientist Theophrastus Bombastus von Hohenheim, better known as Paracelsus, lived from 1540 until 1541. Located at No. 7 Linzergasse since 1809 is the Engel Apotheke, whose most prominent pharmacy assistant was poet Georg Trakl, born in Salzburg in 1887. Right next door, at house No.9, is Hotel Gablerbräu, where a memorial plaque commemorates the great singer Richard Mayr.
Starting out from the Linzer Gasse, an imposing old gate and stairway lead us past Stations of the Cross up the Kapuzinerberg. Once at the top, we are rewarded with incomparable views out across the entire Salzburg historical district. However, if you decide not to take this detour up the Kapuzinerberg, a visit to St. Sebastian’s Cemetery is highly recommended. This picturesque secluded treasure, located in the upper section of the Linzer Gasse, was actually commissioned by Prince-Archbishop Wolf Dietrich, intended to evoke the style of an Italian “Campo Santo”.