The Fortress Museum, which is housed in the magnificent rooms of Hohensalzburg Fortress, documents the history behind the building of what remains the biggest fully preserved medieval fortress in Europe as well as the lifestyles of the people who used to live there.
The History of the Fortress Museum
Today’s museum actually goes back to the original Castle Museum, which was established at the fortress back in 1952. Countless renovations and additions – most recently in 2016 – have turned the museum into the institution as we recognize it today. The Fortress Museum is part of the Salzburg Museum.
Exhibits at the Fortress Museum
On display are Roman coins, pottery and remnants of the original walls, a medieval heating system along with Roman arcades, weapons, armor, instruments of torture, a fully equipped castle kitchen as well as military musical instruments of the past.
The Princes’ Chambers in the Hoher Stock
Located on the third floor of the fortress, in addition to the Fortress Museum and Museum of the Rainer Regiment, are the so-called Princes’ Chambers, consisting of the Princes’ Hall, the Golden Chamber and the Golden Hall. The furnishings are all original and have remained unchanged since 1501/1502. Particularly impressive is a simulation of the night sky, consisting of golden stars on an azure and royal-blue background as well as a tile stove in the Golden Chamber. A Magical Theater entertains visitors by immersing them in the era of Prince Archbishop Leonhard von Keutschach. There may be an extra charge for visits to the Princes’ Chambers.